Offering payment plans and subscription plans are a great way to diversify the type of offers you have on your site.

As you make this decision, you need to be aware that payment failures and subscription cancelations do occur. What happens and what to do if they do?

In this article:


What happens when a payment plan/installment fails?

In the event that a monthly payment fails for any reason, we retry the customer's card on file three times, three days in a row.

If the charge fails after the third attempt, that monthly payment is then canceled and we won't retry again automatically. 🚫

Suggested reading 📚

Managing payment plans

You can easily retry any failed payments from your invoices.


Note: this option will only be available after we retry their failed payment for the third time.


Step 1: Click on Sales in the top navigation.

Step 2: To open up a specific invoice, click the Invoice # in the first column on the left. Simply select the invoice of the failed payment you'd like to retry.


You can also easily go to a customer's invoice by clicking on their Audience profile and selecting View Sales Invoice to the right of their product(s).


Step 3: If the retry option is available you should see it right at the top. To retry a failed payment, simply click on Retry payment.

If the retry is successful, this is all you'll need to do.

If it fails again, it might be a great idea to contact your customer directly and ask them to change to a different payment method. 💳


What happens when a community subscription plan payment fails?

In the event that a community subscription plan fails for any reason, these can be retried directly via Stripe!

Step 1: ​Login to your Stripe account and search for the customer account.

Step 2: Scroll down until you find the Invoices option and click on the failed invoice:

Step 3: On the next page, click on Retry charge to try the payment again

If the payment is successful, that's all you'll need to do 🎉

If the payment fails again, we would recommend reaching out to the customer and asking them to update their payment information. 💳 ​

Note: Members will retain access to the community plan but won't be able to view any of the content until they fix their payment!


Any additional questions? Please reach out to us at [email protected] (or click the icon below to chat with us!). 😃

Did this answer your question?