At Podia, email sending is based on the number of active subscribers in your audience, which helps ensure your sending limits match the size of your email list.
As your business grows and more people join your audience, you may eventually reach the subscriber limit included with your current plan.
When that happens, it’s normal to have questions about what changes, what gets limited, and what steps you can take next.
Sending limits
Podia’s email billing is based on the number of active subscribers in your account. As long as your active subscriber count stays within your included email limit or subscriber tier, you can send unlimited emails to that audience.
Only contacts who are actively subscribed to receive your emails count toward this limit. Contacts marked as Not subscribed or Unconfirmed are not counted.
Each Podia plan includes a number of subscribers at no extra cost:
Mover: 100 subscribers included
Shaker: 500 subscribers included
Earthquaker: 1,000 subscribers included
To start sending emails through Podia, you’ll need to have a subscriber tier that supports the number of active subscribers in your account.
You can check all of our Podia Email plans on our pricing page.
Adding/removing subscribers from your Podia Plan
You can add more subscribers to your Podia plan at any time, even before reaching the limit on your current tier.
Podia will not automatically add subscribers to your Podia plan, helping you avoid unexpected charges. Any changes you make to your Podia plan billing need to be made manually.
As you get closer to your current subscriber limit, Podia will send reminder emails so you know it may be time to add more subscribers to your Podia plan.
To upgrade your Podia Email plan, visit your Billing Page. From there, click "Change plan" and select how many subscribers you want to include in your plan on the next page.
Hitting the subscriber limit
As your list of active subscribers grows, you may eventually reach the subscriber limit of your current Podia plan.
When you hit that limit, here’s what happens:
Broadcasts and campaigns: You won’t be able to send broadcast emails or campaign emails until you upgrade your email tier.
Transactional emails: Transactional emails, like purchase confirmations, failed payment notices, and webinar reminders, will continue to send as usual.
You will be prompted to add more subscribers or remove active subscribers to restore email sending functionality.
Once your email tier is upgraded (or once you reduce the number of active subscribers), email sending will be restored.
⚠️ Once email sending functionality is restored, make sure to reschedule broadcasts and resume paused campaigns.
FAQs
How does Podia count subscribers?
How does Podia count subscribers?
Your email billing is based on the number of active subscribers in your account — not the total number of contacts and not how many emails you send each month.
Contacts marked as “Not subscribed” or “Unconfirmed” are not counted toward your subscriber limit.
What happens if I hit my sending limit?
What happens if I hit my sending limit?
If you exceed the number of subscribers for your tier, the ability to send emails will be disabled (broadcasts + campaigns).
Scheduled broadcasts will be set to draft, and email campaigns will be paused.
You will be prompted to upgrade to the next available tier or remove active subscribers to restore email sending functionality.
Once email sending functionality is restored, make sure to reschedule broadcasts and resume paused campaigns.
Will I be able to keep collecting subscribers if I hit my limit?
Will I be able to keep collecting subscribers if I hit my limit?
Yes.
Once the sending limit is reached, you should still be able to keep collecting subscribers through any email forms, products, etc, you might have on your site - although emailing these subscribers wouldn't be possible.
What happens if I upgrade my email tier before the next billing date?
What happens if I upgrade my email tier before the next billing date?
If you upgrade to a new email tier before your current one expires, you won't be charged twice.
We'll factor in the unused time from your existing plan and prorate the charges of your new plan accordingly.


