Want to deactivate an account from your Podia audience? In this article, we'll teach you how to deactivate contacts
Overview
Deactivating a contact removes them from your Podia and ends their access to your content.
The contact will be removed from any products, subscriptions, and payment plans they currently have access to. They’ll also be unsubscribed from marketing emails and will no longer appear in your contacts list.
When deactivating a contact, you can also choose whether to delete their profile information:
Deactivate
The contact’s profile information remains visible across your community
Their posts and comments are preserved
If they return to your Podia later, they can regain access to their existing profile and previous activity
Deactivate and remove profile information
The contact’s profile information is scrambled
Their posts and comments remain in the Member area under the name Past member
If they return later, they can’t regain access to their original profile
Deactivating individual contacts
Here's how to deactivate someone from your audience:
From your home feed, click on your site name and select Admin from the dropdown menu.
From the Admin dashboard, click Audience in the sidebar menu.
Search or locate the contact you want to deactivate.
You can use the search bar at the top to look for a specific account by name or email address.
Click "..." next to the contact you'd like to deactivate and select "Deactivate".
Click Remove their profile details if you'd like to anonymize the contact and remove their profile information when deactivating.
Select I understand the repercussions, then click Remove to deactivate the contact.
You can also deactivate an individual contact when viewing their contact page.
Click "..." at the top of the contact page and select Deactivate.
Bulk deactivating contacts
Here's how to bulk deactivate contacts:
From your home feed, click on your site name and select Admin from the dropdown menu.
From the Admin dashboard, click Audience in the sidebar menu.
Select all of the contacts you’d like to deactivate using the checkboxes next to each one of their names.
You can also use the "Select all" option if you'd like to select all contacts or from a specific segment:
Click on the “Actions” menu button and select “Delete”.
Click Remove their profile details if you'd like to anonymize the contacts and remove their profile information when deactivating.
Select I understand the repercussions, then click Remove members to deactivate the selected contacts.
FAQs
What happens to a contact’s purchases and invoices if I deactivate them?
What happens to a contact’s purchases and invoices if I deactivate them?
It depends on how the contact is deactivated.
If you choose Deactivate, their historical information, including purchases and invoices, will remain associated with their name. You’ll still be able to access their contact page and review their information.
If you choose Deactivate and remove profile information, the contact’s personal information will be anonymized. Their invoices will remain available under Sales > Invoices, but identifying details will be removed and replaced with scrambled information.
Anonymized profile information can’t be restored.
Can I still access the contact page of deactivated contacts?
Can I still access the contact page of deactivated contacts?
It depends on how the contact has been deactivated.
If they're deactivated, the contact will no longer appear in your Audience, but you can still access their contact page through a direct link or an associated invoice.
If they’re deactivated and their profile information is removed, their contact profile and personal information will no longer be accessible.











